Preventing Sexual Exploitation and Abuse

Stop, prevent, protect
Photo: © UN

Reporting Mechanisms and Contact Persons for Alleged Misconduct, Including Sexual Harassment, Sexual Exploitation and Abuse Committed by UN Personnel in eSwatini 

What is Sexual Exploitation and Abuse?

Sexual exploitation: is any actual or attempted abuse of a position of vulnerability, differential power or trust for sexual purposes, including but not limited to profiting monetarily, socially or politically from the sexual exploitation of another. 

Sexual abuse: is actual or threatened physical intrusion of a sexual nature, whether by force or under unequal or coercive conditions.

Who does the Zero Tolerance Policy apply to?

UN Personnel and UN Implementing Partners.

  • "UN Personnel” means staff members of the UN Secretariat or any UN System Organization, UN Volunteers working with any such organization, people deployed to a UN System Organization under Stand-by Personnel arrangements or on reimbursable loans, interns, people deployed to a UN System Organization through an employment agency or similar arrangements, gratis personnel, and individuals who have a consultancy contract with a UN System Organization, as well as international or regional military forces operating as part of a UN Peacekeeping Mission or otherwise under or associated with a UN mandate.  
  • UN Implementing partner: an entity to which a UN office or entity has entrusted the implementation of a programme and/or project specified in a signed document, along with the assumption of responsibility and accountability for the effective use of resources and the delivery of outputs. Implementing partners may include – but are not limited to - government institutions, inter-governmental organizations, and civil society organizations, including NGOs. Implementing partners’ subcontractors are subsumed within this definition. Implementing partners may include:
    • Government institutions,
    • Inter-governmental organizations,
    • Civil society organizations, including NGOs.
    • Implementing partners’ subcontractors are subsumed within this definition

RCO
Resident Coordinator: Nathalie Ndongo-Seh, ndongo-seh@un.org

UNAIDS
Head of Agency: Rose Craigue, craiguer@unaids.org
Website: https://wrs.expolink.co.uk/integrity

WHO
Head of Agency: Dr. Cornelia Atsyor, atsyorc@who.int       
Website: https://www.who.int/about/ethics/integrity-hotline

UNICEF
Head of Agency: Amina Mohammed, amohamed@unicef.org
Website: https://www.unicef.org/auditandinvestigation/report-wrongdoing

UNDP

Head of Agency: Rose Ssebatindira, rose.ssebatindira@undp.org
Website: https://secure.ethicspoint.eu/domain/media/en/gui/104807/lang.html

UNFPA

Head of Agency: Margaret Thwala-Tembe, thwala-tembe@unfpa.org
Website: https://web2.unfpa.org/help/hotline.cfm

WFP
Head of Agency: Deepak Shah, deepak.shah@wfp.org
Website: https://secure.ethicspoint.eu/domain/media/en/gui/106255/index.html

FAO
Assistant Representative: Khanyisile Mabuza, khanyisile.mabuza@fao.org
Website: http://www.fao.org/aud/69204/en/

IOM
Head of Office: Mr. Jeremias Mendes, jmendes@iom.int
Website: http://weareallin.iom.int

UNESCO
Secretary General of the national Commission: Phumzile Hlope, phumzile_hlophe@yahoo.com
Website: https://en.unesco.org/about-us/ios/report-fraud-corruption-abuse

UNDSS
Field Security Associate: Vusi Matse, vusi.matse@un.org

Website with the links to the reporting mechanisms of all UN agencies:

https://www.un.org/preventing-sexual-exploitation-and-abuse/content/how-report